Now US Visa Ban on Iran, North Korea and Venezuela

The US authorities decided to expand the list of countries for citizens whose entry into the territory of United States will be limited. This was stated in the press service of the White House issued on Sunday, signed by President Donald Trump.

We are talking about the introduction of a set of restrictive measures against a number of countries, who would be prohibited from obtaining US visas. The list of these countries included Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela and Yemen. This rule comes into force on October 18. According to the text, according to the Ministry of Homeland Security, these states “possess inadequate protocols” in terms of identifying individuals and exchanging information, in addition, there are “risk factors”.

At the same time, according to a representative of the US administration, Sudan was excluded from the list of countries whose citizens had not been able to obtain a visa during the period of the previous Trump decree, new restrictions on it also do not apply. “From now on, Sudan is excluded from the list,” he said during a special briefing.

“The restrictions imposed before or now have never, never been applied on the basis of race, religion or belief, the governments of these countries simply do not meet our basic requirements,” the administration official said.

Immediately after this announcement, the State Department’s press service circulated a statement by Secretary of State Rex Tillerson. “The State Department will coordinate with other federal agencies to apply these measures in an appropriate manner,” the chief of US diplomacy said.

Flexible Approach

The text of the presidential proclamation notes that the White House introduces different restrictions for immigrants and ordinary travellers. “The United States gives people with the right to permanent residence in the country more rights than non-immigrants, those who have been legally granted a residence permit are harder to evict than non-immigrants, even if a threat to national security is increased,” the US president explains. “For all these countries, except one, I impose a ban on entry for immigrants,” adds Trump, clarifying that the exception was Venezuela.

As for the other categories of travellers, a “more flexible approach” has been applied to them. Thus, residents of Chad, Libya and Yemen cannot be issued visas for category B-1 / B-2 – for tourist and business trips.

A much more stringent restriction has affected North Korea and Syria – their citizens are virtually completely banned from entering the territory of the United States because of the complete lack of cooperation between Pyongyang and Damascus with Washington.

Similar restrictions were introduced against Iran, but with reservations. An exception is made for student visas and exchange programs. Nevertheless, Iranians wishing to visit the United States will be subjected to a strict and thorough check.

In Washington, however, they admit that Somalia went to meet the American authorities. According to the proclamation, the authorities of the country shared information about their citizens, but the electronic passport issued in this African state is not recognized in the US and in many other countries. In addition, terrorist groups operate from the Somalian territory. As a result, the White House decided to impose a ban on the issuance of immigration visas for citizens of Somalia. As for the other categories of travellers, they will have to go through a check for their links with extremists when considering their visa application.

A separate section is also devoted to Venezuela. Earlier in Washington, President Nicolas Maduro was named dictator of the republic, the proclamation simply indicated that Caracas does not provide Washington with information about Venezuelans. “However, there are other ways to obtain information in order to confirm citizenship and identify persons from Venezuela.” Therefore, the restrictions imposed by this proclamation are directed at government representatives responsible for this discrepancy i.e. lack of data exchange, the text says.

Exceptions to the Rules

All the measures described above do not apply to persons who have received visas before October 18 or other documents authorizing entry into the United States. Moreover, the restrictions do not apply to those who already have the status of an immigrant, a refugee or those who have received asylum. There are exceptions to the rules for individuals in case of certain conditions, for example, for those who intend to invest large sums in the United States or have previously been in the country for a long time.

“My main duty is to ensure the security of the American people.” Having issued this new decree on the movement, I carry out this sacred duty, “says Trump’s statement, later circulated by the White House press service.

Old Decree

Earlier this year, Trump signed a decree imposing a 90-day ban on entry into the United States for citizens of six countries with predominantly Muslim populations – Iran, Yemen, Libya, Syria, Somalia and Sudan. However, the federal courts decided to block this initiative. There were several such decrees, and until the last, the executive and judicial authorities argued about the legality of such measures.