Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Russia Assumes Monthly Presidency At UN Security Council (UNSC)

Russia will hold the monthly presidency of the UN Security Council (UNSC) in September which also concurs with the opening of the 74th session of the General Assembly and its most important part, the high-level week.

During this time, the presidents, the heads of government and foreign ministers from the UN member-nations will deliver their speeches at the organization and hold multilateral and bilateral talks on the most pressing issues of the international agenda.

“From September 1, Russia will become the president of the UN Security Council,” Spokesman for Russia’s Permanent Mission to the UN Fedor Strzhizhovsky told TASS.

The presidency of the UN Security Council rotates monthly among its members according to the alphabetical order of the names of the countries in English. “The program of our presidency will be presented at the briefing of [Russian Permanent Representative] Vasily Nebenzya on September 3 after it is officially backed by the Security Council’s member states,” the diplomat said.

According to Strzhizhovsky, a large number of events at the Security Council are scheduled for September. “Besides, our presidency will coincide with the opening of the 74th session of the General Assembly and the high-level week,” he added. Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov will head Russia’s delegation at the UN General Assembly’s session, the diplomat noted.

Russia’s First Deputy Permanent Representative to the United Nations Dmitry Polyansky said earlier that Lavrov could take part in the high-level United Nations Security Council meetings due to be held in late September on the sidelines of the UN General Assembly’s general debates. According to him, two UNSC meetings have been scheduled, which will be devoted to regional cooperation.

The UN Security Council brings together 15 member states, including five permanent members – the United Kingdom, China, Russia, the United States and France. Each of them has a veto power, which allows them to block resolutions. Half of the non-permanent members are elected for two-year terms each year. Currently, the non-permanent members are Belgium, the Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Germany, Indonesia, Cote d’Ivoire, Kuwait, Peru, Poland and South Africa.

The UN Security Council’s president is tasked with drawing up the program of the organization, which under Article 24 of the UN Charter holds the responsibility for maintaining international peace and security, while other UN members must observe these resolutions. The president also makes decisions regarding the requests for holding emergency meetings.



UN Under Fire For Leaking Info On Uighur, Tibetan & Hong-Kong Activists To China

The UN Human Rights Office is under fire for sharing the names of Chinese government opponents, including Uighur activists, Tibetans and Hongkongers, who took...

Indian Air Force Bets Big On Russian Jets; Set To Acquire More MiG-29, Su-30 MKI Fighters – Reports

The Indian Air Force is set to procure 21 MiG-29s and 12 Sukhoi-30 MKI fighter jets from Russia. This development comes after the Indian...

UK, Germany, France Warn Iran Against Starting Work On Nuclear Program

Tensions between Iran and the EU nations including the UK, Germany and France have reached a fever pitch over Tehran’s decision to accelerate nuclear...

Afghan President Ashraf Ghani Condemns Attack On Female Judges; Urges Taliban To End Violence

Afghan President Ashraf Ghani in a statement said the terrorist attack and continued violence is contrary to Islamic guidance and urged the Taliban to...

Why Pakistan Keeps Calling India’s Ruling Party BJP’s Parent Body RSS A Terror Group?

Pakistan has urged the United Nations Security Council to designate India’s Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) -- the parent organization of the ruling Bharatiya Janata...